Shining Now : This new mother declares “I am Adaptable”

 “The more you adapt, the more interesting you are” ― Martha Stewart

This new mother says “motherhood has not only changed my life, it has changed me. I always knew I wanted to be a mommy, and I knew that I would love my child more than anything in the world. What I wasn’t expecting, however, was how possible it is for a human being to feel such overwhelming and overpowering emotions for anyone or anything, for that matter.”

She has definitely learned to adapt with a new child in her life.

“I knew I loved my baby way before I found out I was pregnant. When i found out I was pregnant, I was beside myself with joy because I knew my dream of becoming a mommy was about to be a reality. It was scary yet happily exciting at the same time. In the nine months I had to prepare for, and wrap my mind around becoming a parent (and not just having a baby) my anticipation and excitement grew daily. I had dreams about this being who would be entering my life, and perhaps more daunting, worries about me entering his life. So many questions snuck up on me during the duration of my pregnancy. Am I going to be a good parent? Will I be a teacher worthy of his growing and adaptive mind? Will I love him enough? Can I be firm when he needs discipline? The wandering of my mind was seemingly endless.”

“The day my doctor told me it was time to induce my delivery, I can’t even explain how nervous I felt. It was a very good kind of nervous. When he was born and I heard his first cry, I started sobbing. I waited my whole life to hear his voice. When I first saw him, it was absolutely surreal. I couldn’t believe it. There he was, my baby. My child. My legacy. My continuation of life after I am gone. He’s the only blood relative I have ever known. This moment was monumental for me on many different levels.”

“Over the next few months, jumping forward to where we are now, I feel like my unconditional love for him grows exponentially every day. Yes, I am exhausted, but that doesn’t matter because I am so happy to have him. So how has motherhood changed me? In ways I don’t think I can adequately describe.”

“In the past few years I have finally learned to love myself. Now I am loving someone else way more than that. It is scary to love anything that much, especially another person. It is, for lack of a more sophisticated word, magical. Being a mommy has changed my life for the good. For the great; for the best. I absolutely, entirely, with my entire heart, mind, body, soul and spirit, LOVE IT!”

 

Do you know someone who’s shining their light? Contact us and tell us their story! We love to network with people doing things that bring them joy and serve others in the process. We seek out opportunities to shine light on the good works of individuals and organizations! We would also love to hear your story and/or have you participate in our gallery. There’s no one quite like you and we’d like to acknowledge that! THANK YOU FOR SHINING YOUR LIGHT!

 

 

Leave a Reply

