Shining Now : This Dog Whisperer declares “I am Crusader”

“Dogs, for a reason that can only be described as divine, have the ability to forgive, let go of the past, and live each day joyously. It’s something the rest of us strive for.” ― Jennifer Skiff, The Divinity of Dogs: True Stories of Miracles Inspired by Man’s Best Friend

Although it’s invisible, this self-declared “Crusader” is caped. Along with a stunning ability to remember trivial facts, an unmatched sense of humor and a love of archeology, this longtime friend has the biggest heart for animals, especially of the canine variety.

My mantra is ‘Love your dog enough to treat him like a dog.’ I want folks to love and appreciate dogs for what they are and not try to pretend they are ‘little furry humans’

Larry Preston is the founder of DogCentric and his clients find their lives forever altered after sending their pet to spend time with the “Dog Whisperer” of Dallas.  “I’ve heard from so many clients about the dramatic change my training has made in their lives. They are able to develop a much stronger bond with their pet when they understand them better. My mantra is ‘love your dog enough to treat him like a dog.’ I want folks to love and appreciate dogs for what they are, and not try to pretend they are ‘little furry humans’, as that’s when most negative behaviors appear. Dogs aren’t equipped to lead in our world. They are great followers as long as they have a strong, consistent leader, and that’s where I come in.

My life has changed drastically since I followed my heart and stopped chasing the almighty dollar. I get to do what I love every single day and it fills me with such purpose and joy

He was working as a trainer with an established dog training center when he thought of the name he wanted to call his would-be company. “I came up with the name, never thinking I’d branch out on my own. I just thought it was a name that encompassed all aspects of dogs. I worked on a logo with a friend and then sat on it for a couple of years.”

DogCentric = dog centered, which describes me and my world

In the meantime, he started a Facebook page for DogCentric, just as an information distribution site at first. Then as he advanced in his training skills he realized that the methods used by his employer were far too harsh and severe for his tastes. He resigned from that job and had several clients go with him as he began his own venture. And, so the adventure continues.

But wait! Every caped crusader has a sidekick and Hank, the pug, fits the bill perfectly. If you see Larry, Hank is right at his side. He takes his super-dog role very seriously. When Larry visits with some of his favorite four-legged clients and the play gets more than rough-and-tumble, Hank acts as the intermediary. 

Hank’s latest adventure includes the addition to his family of a newly adopted sister named Matilda.  

“When the last round of storms came through, I saw online that the SPCA had lost power, and I knew that was a very bad thing for the scared and lonely doggies there. They were desperate to get help adopting their dogs, but they had a female pit bull that had been a brood mare. In fact she had a litter of pups while there. She had been there a while and due to her issues they had all but given up on adopting her, so they had her on the last row in the last kennel. Naturally I chose her.”

So as this dynamic “pack” moves about our city, helping our four-legged friends, we can all sleep a little better knowing that the Crusader is on the job.

HANK AND MATILDA NAP IT OUT
Walking his four-legged clients
Hank-E-Pankee, the sidekick
True love

Do you know someone who’s shining their light? Contact us and tell us their story! We love to network with people doing things that bring them joy and serve others in the process. We seek out opportunities to shine light on the good works of individuals and organizations! We would also love to hear your story and/or have you participate in our gallery. There’s no one quite like you and we’d like to acknowledge that! THANK YOU FOR SHINING YOUR LIGHT!

 

2 thoughts on “Shining Now : This Dog Whisperer declares “I am Crusader”

  1. Hi Sherry, I trust that you are well. Is Dominic going to be on soon?

    I am enjoying your idea. I was wondering if you got my picture and information, and is there was anything for me to do?

    Like

Leave a Reply

