Sarah Shines

I love Sarah McLachlan. And I forgot. There was a time seemingly not so long ago when her music was on daily rotation in my home or car. It provided comfort through silly romantic drama, encouragement during arduous searches for self, and inspiration through late-night bursts of creativity.  As of late, though, the only time I hear her is on the animal commercial that we’ve all seen and turned away from because of the heart-wrenching images. Until today. On Sunday I heard that a friend was going to see her in concert that evening at the Winspear. I wasn’t even aware she was in town, let alone in touch with what she’d been up to for the past few years. I have to say that I would have really enjoyed attending that concert. Today I heard why it would have been so wonderful. Not only was the tour called Shine On, with “shining” being a topic close to my heart, but because it’s a tribute to her father who passed away in 2010. I can certainly relate, having lost my father in early 2011.  As part of the tour, she was offering a contest asking people to share their stories of how they shine on and the winners were asked to join her on stage to sit and share their stories. (Insert whole body shivers here). Here’s to you Sarah … still bringing your radiance and beauty! How sorry I am for your loss … and how happy I am to renew my relationship with my favorite songs from days gone by (and discovering new ones).  SHINE ON! Here’s a link for more information on Sarah’s Shine On tour. Photo found online from Amazon.com website.

Here’s one of my favorites … a collaboration of Sarah and Delerium.

Do you know someone who’s shining their light? Contact us and tell us their story! We love to network with people doing things that bring them joy and serve others in the process. We seek out opportunities to shine light on the good works of individuals and organizations! We would also love to hear your story and/or have you participate in our gallery. There’s no one quite like you and we’d like to acknowledge that! THANK YOU FOR SHINING YOUR LIGHT!

Leave a Reply

